James T. Davis History
From the beginning at James T. Davis, we have focused on our customers, letting their need for so much more than paint, grow our business. In 1936, James T. Davis Sr. founded the James T. Davis brand with a single store in downtown Lynchburg. Later, in 1967, we built a paint manufacturing facility on Candler’s Mountain Road. This expansion developed from a desire to produce the highest quality paints for the store to distribute. From the beginning, Mr. Davis and his family took pride in offering great service, excellent products and expert advice.
In 1980, we opened our James T. Davis Paint Center retail location. Homeowners, contractors, and automotive customers found the paints, stains, and supplies for any project within our inviting doors. Eventually, this location became a core part of our many offerings; an expanded storefront allows us the privilege of helping customers select the best product for their project.
Later, in 1995, Cal and Denise Henning, along with their business partner David Boie, acquired both Davis Paint and James T. Davis retail. In fact, our offerings have expanded beyond paint to full home furnishing, including:
- Window Treatments
- Do-It-Yourself Project Supplies
Under their leadership, our brand has grown into one of the premier sources for both beautiful colors and reliable, quality paint products.
After more than 75 years of conducting business in Lynchburg, the team at James T. Davis enjoys the continuing privilege of serving homeowners, contractors, distributors, and automotive customers. We continue in our promise that we offer so much more than paint through:
- Friendly Experience
- Expert Service & Advice
- Eco-Minded Products
- Competitive Prices
With this promise, we celebrate the opportunity to continue serving Central Virginia for another 75 years and beyond.